chicken soup/miso soup

chicken miso soba soupChicken, miso, udon soba soup (Best-Ever 500 recipes)

I don’t have a lot to say about this. It is fine, a little bland, maybe in the winter I would appreciate it more but in the scorching heat chicken soup isn’t all that appealing.

It technically called for dashi granules, I assume these are like chicken bouillon cubes. I, of course, have laver (dried seaweed) and bonito flakes (dried smoked fish flakes – they look like fish food but smell like smoky deliciousness) so I just made some dashi from scratch it doesn’t take very long and it smells so good! It almost seemed a shame to complicate it with chicken, mushro0ms and baby bok choy but I did.  I’m also not sure that dashi and chicken is a fabulous combination. I’m making it sound like it wasn’t good. It was. It just wasn’t great.

The soba noodles started to disintegrate in the leftovers and now I have half a block tofu that I’m not sure what to do with, again…

Leave a Reply

