roast pork with sage

applesauce, roast pork and roast potatoes, brussel sproutsand potatoes…simmered brussel sprouts…homemade applesauce…. yummy! (all from Bittman’s book)

Per Mr. Bittman’s recipe, I made a mix of dried sage and mince garlic, I made slits in the roast and pushed the mix into the slits. This is a nice way to get flavor into the roast. Then put it in the oven in the with the potatoes for over an hour. It was excellent, moist and flavorful.

While the roast was cooking I took some of the Macintosh apples that I bought in Wisconsin last weekend and made some applesauce. It is tasty, but the recipe called for a lot of sugar and butter and it is a too little caramelly for me. I will ease up next time for a fresher sauce with more apple flavor.

Then when the roast was smelling all yummy and sage-y and almost done I simmered the brussel sprouts. I love brussel sprouts. Why doesn’t everyone love brussels sprouts? The have that lovely cabbage flavor but with a nice solid texture you can bite into, they are almost crunchy.

Of course I ended up eating too much and I have a lot of leftovers to eat this week.

Leave a Reply

