for love of a kitchen-aid mixer

kitchen aid mixerNow… I am not a big baker as I have mentioned before. It requires precise measurements which is not my forte. I also don’t really eat a lot of baked goods or sweets, so when I bake I have to force the final product on others or have them go to waste.

BUT I LOVE MY NEW KITCHEN-AID MIXER! Thanks Mom and Dad :)

It is almost as if before, when I said that I like to cook I was lying and now I tangible proof of my dedication to all things cooking and kitchen related. I just love the feeling of hefting it’s prodigious weight from the cabinet up to the counter. There will be lots of baking in the coming months so I hope no one in my office is on a diet.

For the maiden voyage I made Chocolate-Orange Biscotti. I like homemade biscotti, it always comes out a little more crumbly and less “hard as a rock” like the ones at Starbucks tend to be and I can make interesting flavors that aren’t coated in chocolate….of course this one does have chocolate in it.  I think I like the two step process als0; bake, slice, bake again. It seems like I get a chance to check in with it. Not like cheesecake or souffles, things that you have to kind of let go of and hope for the best. I always find I’m mangling the centers testing and trying to decide if they are done. Biscotti, you check in halfway through and you can easily tell if it is turning into biscotti or something… less than biscotti.biscotti

This most recent foray into baking and blogging has made tangible a few other deficiencies in available equipment. I find that I need to buy a new oven thermometer. I know I have problems with the temperature of my apartment oven but now it seems my thermometer, which I was using to try to manage this issue, is not giving me the right temp either…rats! Baking is a little difficult when you have no idea what the oven temperature actually is!!!

I also need to start researching the options for a new digital camera purchase because ye old iphone is just not cutting it. These pics are all horrible!

Leave a Reply

