crunchy, fresh and fiber-tastic vs. port-soaked fall off the bone protein

winter salad

winner

I was visiting my parents last weekend and decided to stop at the grocery store on the way home but I had not selected any recipes or made a list. This cripples me… I need my list! As it happens I had the February issue of Bon Appetit in my giant purse, so that is where my list had to come from. My first choice was Braised Lamb Shanks with Swiss Chard  and I added all necessary ingredients to my list, luckily I also added all the necessary ingredients for Portuguese Chicken because Whole Foods did not have any lamb shanks… next time maybe.  Then I was also intrigued by the Winter Salad with Lemon-Yogurt Dressing. Lots of raw veggies sounded wonderful.

So I bought a whole chicken and lots of veggies…if you’re jealous, I understand, it is probably because you just bought a frozen pizza and some cheerios… I cut the chicken into pieces (kitchen shears rock!), browned them,  then pot’ted’ them with the rest of the ingredients: paprika, tomatoes, prosciutto, tawny port, etc. Yes, I now own a bottle of tawny port. I’m not sure how much dessert wine I can drink but it is good. While the chicken parts were spending their hour and a half in the oven I chopped and assembled the salad: carrot, jicama, broccoli, chickpeas, radishes, kalamata olives and sunflower seeds. It was a lot of chopping but worth it for some serious veggie goodness.

The chicken is very good and of course falls right off the bone. The salad is crunchy and fresh and fiber-tastic and is holding up well this week. I have been taking it to work for lunch every day. In the end as tasty as the chicken is…(drum roll) the salad wins!

Portuguese Chicken

good but not the winner

 

Leave a Reply

