poached fish and veggies with vinaigrette

tuna and veggies

Tuna Sicilian Style with Roasted Cauliflower and Green Beans

From the store: cherry tomatoes, cauliflower, green beans, mint (optional – garnish), tuna steaks, green olives (optional – garnish)

You should have the rest on hand unless you are like me and forgot to restock something basic like white wine vinegar.  You could look for the walnut oil and oregano flowers. I’ve never used either myself.

1. cut some tuna steak into cubes and poach in salted water to desired doneness.  mine was good but not as fresh as I would like if I am going to eat it really rare so I basically cooked it almost all the way through. still only a few minutes on low heat. remove from water and cool.

2. make a vinaigrette by browning a clove of garlic (sliced) in your olive oil pour all into a bowl and let cool, add some seeded cherry tomatoes, lemon zest, oregano (or oregano flowers – I didn’t have those), red pepper flakes, and white wine vinegar (I was also out of that! I used a little white balsamic vinegar and some white wine). salt to taste.

3. put the vinaigrette tomato combo on the tuna and let marinate for a few hours

4. later clean and slice a head of cauliflower, brush on some olive oil (the recipe calls for walnut oil which sounds great but I didn’t have any), roast in a 375 degree oven for about 30 minutes.

5. just before the cauliflower is done blanch some green beans

6. put green beans, cauliflower on a plate, add tuna/tomatoes and some of the vinaigrette. Add some fresh mint and green olives. (I have no idea what kind I got from the olive bar they are round bright green ones and they were a little firm, less salty and brighter flavored than some which worked well)

Leave a Reply

