chickpea salad for breakfast?

lamb chops zucchini fritters chickpea salad

I seem to have a taste for Mediterranean style recipes lately. Maybe it is just summer which feel so right for veggies like zucchini and cucumbers and quick, hot grilling.  Maybe it is the bright flavors of salads with only lemon juice, olive oil and a few fresh herb for dressing. The chickpea salad with cumin dressing was so delicious that even early the next morning when I looked in the fridge for to get some breakfast, I seriously considered it as an option but decided it wouldn’t go all that well with coffee.

This dinner was a bit ambitious to start as late that evening as I did, but I had left the chickpeas soaking all day so I had to make those….and then the lamb chops are easy they just require the food processor to make the marinade and then to crank up the grill. The zucchini courgettes and Turkish cucumber yoghurt salad were what ended up making this meal a late one. Both the cucumber and zucchini required grating, salting and then draining and or wringing out. The cucumber salad just required a bit more chopping. This Turkish version includes a fair amount of dill (yum) and has less garlic than the similar Greek cucumber sauce. The zucchini patties just had to be mixed a few other ingredients and fried.

I kind of felt like I used every pan, utensil and appliance in my kitchen..not even close.. but it felt like it. Especially when I was washing dishes at 11 pm.

Chickpea Salad

  • 1 cup of dried chickpeas (garbanzo beans)
  • water
  • 3 tablespoons finely chopped flat leaf parsley
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh ground cumin seed
  • a pinch of cayenne pepper
  • salt and pepper to taste

I didn’t actually measure anything. I soaked the beans all day while I was at work, drained and added fresh water, brought to a boil and then turned down to low and simmered for 1.5 – ish hours until tender. Drained and cooled

Toss all other ingredients in large bowl with chickpeas. Done.

2 thoughts on “chickpea salad for breakfast?

  1. After looking at a few of the blog posts on your web site,
    I truly like your technique of blogging.
    I added it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back soon.
    Take a look at my website as well and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

