mole from scratch…what was I thinking

I like to challenge myself but really….what was I thinking?! This really was ridiculous. You need a small army of people to make mole. I started on the first few steps on Saturday and then Sunday basically spent from 8 am to 11 pm working on it. I took two meal breaks and went to yoga class. By the end the evening my legs/knees hurt, part of that was yoga, but mostly standing all day. I am 35 and a half, ya know.

So it is kind of like really complicated granola. There are 1/3 cup measures of everything but the kitchen sink. Then you have to shell, toast, fry, drain, puree, and force through a fine mesh stainer every. single. one. of. them. Simmer each individually for 45 minutes, then combine, puree and strain again…. Okay, I’m exaggerating a bit, but not much.

By the end it was pure stubbornness. It was going to be done! and I was not going to get up Monday morning to a kitchen full of pots, pans, strainers, and blenders covered in a film of orange chili oil!! nope. not going to happen.

It has been almost a week and I’m still tired just thinking about it. But I have enough homemade mole in my freezer to last…probably longer than I will want to keep eating it. And I can say I did it. I made mole from scratch, dried chilies, chocolate, nuts, seeds, berries, kitchen sink and all. (sigh)

recipe – only for the ambitious or those who can recruit a small army of sous chefs

Leave a Reply

