sweet corn ice cream

sweet corn ice creamPeople are unsure of this when they hear about it but I’m telling you it was de-lish. John Ash really does such a great job in this book of coming up with flavors that are just a little outside the norm yet still accessible and delicious. Love it! Corn is sweet and then you add some vanilla and cream and honey…pure summer straight from from your freezer.

If you try this recipe, I will tell you that I left out the optional Serrano pepper.  I suppose I should try it someday but I felt it might be a little overpowering to the mildness of the sweet corn flavor.

The almond lace fan cooks are also good and are easy but so greasy! That page is hidden in the link above so here is my version with comments.

Almond Lace Fans (John Ash)

1 stick of butter (yes a whole stick, 1/2 cup)
1 tablespoon of flour (yes only 1 tablespoon)
3/4 cup of ground almonds (I used whole skin on raw almonds and ground them up in my food processor)
1/2 cup of sugar
2 tablespoons of milk
1 teaspoon of grated orange zest (you need the fresh grated orange zest!)

1. preheat over to 325 degrees (that is Fahrenheit…or as in my case where my apt oven if off by 100 degrees I set it to 225 degrees and watch my oven thermometer carefully)

2. butter and flour a couple of baking sheets (btw heavy duty 1/2 sheet pans like they use in restaurants really do seem to be much better than the cookie sheets you can buy at target)

3. put all the ingredients in a saute pan over low heat and stir (wooden spoon is always best for your pans, your food and your health) until butter melts and it is mixed.

4. remove from heat and place heaping teaspoons of batter on sheets (far apart – like 5 inches – they get very flat and thin)

5. bake for 8 to 10 minutes (golden brown and not yet burning)

6. I left most of mine flat but they are pliable when they first come of the oven you can shape if you want.

One thought on “sweet corn ice cream

Leave a Reply

