xmas presents in action part 5 – GGma’s Rolling Pin

piece of cheese flamicheI made flamiche with stinky French cheese. Flamiche is a kind of a bready tart or quiche.  It can also be made with leeks… but I could not find any leeks that week.

I used the rolling pin my aunt gave me for xmas, that had been my great grandmother’s rolling pin. Flamiche is common in northern France and Belgium. So I pretend that this is not the first flamiche this rolling pin has made. That great grandma Rose, whose family was Luxembourger, really the same group of people… there where the border moved and meant little to nothing…so I pretend that her mother Anna who was born in Belgium a few miles from the modern Luxembourg and French borders once taught my great grandmother Rose to make the same or a very similar recipe in a kitchen somewhere in New Belgium, Wisconsin. It may have been difficult though, because I have never seen stinky French-style cheese, or leeks or anything like flamiche in Wisconsin. I pretend anyway.

One thought on “xmas presents in action part 5 – GGma’s Rolling Pin

Leave a Reply

