peaches talk to me

When I see peaches at the farmer’s market…they say “pie” to me. I almost hear it in my head. This time they said crostada, which is kind of just “easy” pie.

Part of this is that I prefer my peaches cooked, grilled, baked, broiled, whatever…not raw. Also peaches play well with spices I like, nutmeg and cloves… the types often used with fall foods like squash. I also prefer peach to apple pie. Apples are way more difficult to peel and core. Besides apples always say “apple crisp” to me.

Mostly I shouldn’t be listening to the fruit at the farmer’s market at all, because I need to stop making desserts and start running — or I’m going to have to pull my fat jeans out of the back of the closet.

Leave a Reply

