cioppino the San Fransico treat

I have to admit that I absolutely assumed that cioppino was Italian…until I Google-d it this evening and saw that it hails from San Francisco.  Well…I learn something everyday.

I’m still nursing this #$%^ cold so “easy” and “soup” are big bonuses on my recipe selection list right now. Also I’m craving seafood after the Bavarian vay-cay diet.

So this is what my 1/2 batch of Rachael’s Everyday Cioppino ended up like:

  • olive oil, some red pepper flakes, half a can of anchovies, a bay leaf, 3 cloves of garlic minced in a pot over medium heat
  • After the anchovies started to melt a little I added 1 stalk of celery chopped, and 1/2 an onion chopped.
  • Once the veggies were a little soft I splashed in a little white wine (1/2 cup-ish of organic Torrontes from Argentina)
  • After about a minute I added the stock, mine was about 10 oz of chicken stock from a carton and 4 oz  fish stock from frozen concentrate (I freeze it in ice cube trays so I can pull a few cubes out when I want them)  also 4 sprigs of fresh thyme, a good handful of chopped flat leaf parsley and a 14 oz can of fire-roasted crushed tomatoes
  • After that came to a bubble I lowered the heat a bit (med-low) and added my fish (good sized chucks of cod – I seasoned them with smoked salt flakes and fresh ground pepper)
  • After about 5 minutes I added 1/2 dozen mussels and shrimp and a good handful of little scallops.
  • Then I covered it and cooked it for a another 5-10ish minutes then pulled out the now naked thyme stems. done.

My shrimp were a little overcooked….I could have added them for the very last next couple of minutes.

Now. What am I going to do with the second half of that can of anchovies?

3 thoughts on “cioppino the San Fransico treat

Leave a Reply

