pancakes with salty filling

savorycrepes

I love Google translate because although I better understand the well thought out translation to “Savory crepes with herb and mushroom fillings”…. “pancakes with salty filling” is just way more fun!

This is the first recipe I have made from The Viennese Kitchen cookbook.  I enjoyed reading the book but the recipes are a little old fashioned and it has a lot of desserts so I’m not sure how often it will make it into the rotation but this recipe was very simple and delicious.  I like that this meal works easily as breakfast, lunch or dinner.

The mushroom filling was pretty standard, just sauteed mushrooms and onions. The herb filling called for quark, I used a local farmers cheese, also some yogurt, dried thyme and basil, and diced smoked ham.

So now I’ve run out of crepes and mushrooms but I still have some herb/cheese/ham filling. What am I going to do with it?

2 thoughts on “pancakes with salty filling

  1. Love savoury crepes! In fact, I always *have* to have a salty crepe, before I try a sweet one, so crepes go in pairs, as far as I’m concerned!

Leave a Reply

