one pot pintade

guineahen

It is almost a little spring like out there today but in March I was loving me some winter one pot braising… a bird, some cabbage and root veggies in the oven all afternoon.  You don’t want that in July; you want it in March! I forget about pesto salads and grilled fish and break out the smoked meats and the 5 qt casserole.

In Africa they fed me pintade occasionally. En anglais it is called a guinea hen, and it is an expensive game bird here in the USA. (sigh) Look at this picture you can’t even tell it is in there! I don’t see the cabbage either… (sigh) I did rather cover it with chopped parsley.

It is really mostly dark meat-like and definitely a little greasy and then you add the bacon and sausage too. You will need some good crusty bread to soak it all up. Wine should be served and I suggest using a bad French accent during the entire meal just for fun.

My recipe is a little vague you can find a better one on the interwebs I am sure. I made only one bird so this was a 1/2 recipe, technically speaking; it is still a lot for one person so there are leftovers in my freezer for some upcoming rainy April day when I don’t feel like cooking.

Preheat to 350 degrees F
1 guinea hen – rinsed, dried, salt and peppered, trussed
1 cabbage cut into wedges
In a casserole heat a couple of tablespoons of vegetable oil. Brown the bird. Remove the bird.
Put 2 pieces of bacon on the bottom of the casserole, then 1/2 the cabbage wedges, salt and pepper
Then the hen and surround with 2 carrots peeled and cut into sticks, and the remaining cabbage wedges.
Pour in 1 cup of chicken broth and 1/2 cup dry white wine and add an onion studded with 1 whole clove and a bouquet garni
Top with the other 2 slices of bacon.
Cover and braise for 1.25 to 1.5 hours
10 minutes before the end add some smoked sausage, sliced (about 5 oz)
garnish with fresh chopped parsley

Leave a Reply

