Postcards from India… or my kitchen

friedfish

This fish in a spiced chickpea flour batter and it fried up really nice and crisp but light and airy. It was just Tilapia and still really tasty. Perhaps my best deep frying effort to date. I still hate all that boiling oil though. (Here is a gluten-free variation of the Julie Sahni recipe)

The dal was leftover that I made before and I  had in my freezer. 

The rice is an easy Judith Jones recipe for leftover rice. Sauté it with some onion, mushrooms, hot green chili, cumin, and coriander. Are mushrooms a common ingredient in Indian cooking? 

 

Leave a Reply

